Something for me

Welcome to The Cold Coffee Club!

Before I became a mum, I thought the toughest thing about having young kids would be the sleepless nights, changing poopy nappies – OMG, the horror – and cleaning milk spew. Yes, even milk spew offended me back then!

Coming from a busy corporate role, I eagerly anticipated the arrival of maternity leave, where I just knew I would have the time to keep my house looking nice, make delicious dinners, watch ALL of my favourite reality TV shows and not have the stress of all that work! Not to mention a cute little baby to kiss and cuddle.

Yeah, right…

Nothing in life can prepare you for the shake up that a new baby brings. Yes, I was tired, yes, there were poo explosions which defied the laws of physics (how can a baby poo that far UP their back?) and yes, milk spew stinks. But the biggest challenge for me, which I had not really considered or anticipated was how all encompassing motherhood would be, how little time would be left for myself and how isolating the whole life stage can be.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE being a mum and I ADORE my girls. They are the spring in my step and the twinkle in my eye. They amaze me every single day. But nearly four years in to this crazy rollercoaster I have realised that so much of my daily life is devoted to looking after my girls that I really don’t have anything that I do, just for me. I know a lot of my girlfriends are in exactly the same boat.

So it was following a conversation with my ever supportive husband of my need for “something for me” that The Cold Coffee Club was conceived. Rob had suggested maybe I play a sport? Haha – yeah, NO.

This is my happy place, giving me a creative outlet to reflect, document and generally laugh at the chaos that is my life right now. I KNOW the craziness I deal with on a day to day basis is not unique to me.

In addition to sharing my thoughts and reflections on this blog, I will also be using the site to share easy, family friendly recipes. Even though we are time poor, we can still eat well!

Thank you for coming along on this ride with me. Let us laugh at the carnage, share our experiences and tips for coping, and sip on our cold coffees as we realise we are all in this together.

Tamlyn x x x

unspecified-11

 

2 thoughts on “Something for me

  1. hazelhodgkins says:

    Love this! Not sure how I missed this entry? So glad you started this blog, hon! Your honesty is refreshing, and your commitment to celebrating and uplifting other women on this (often difficult) journey, when comparison is the default position, is much needed! Thank you! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

