Mushroom bruschetta

I first had a version of this bruschetta while out for a last minute brunch with my mum and sister. Pregnant with Grace at the time, the dark cloud of morning sickness had just started to lift and I remember wondering whether the food was actually that good, or if I had just been sick and starving for the last three months! Turns out it was actually that good, and I have been making my version of this bruschetta ever since.

It may look fancy, and I have tarted it up a little bit for the photo, but you can seriously throw this bruschetta together in less than 15 minutes. I often make it for myself when I get home from dropping my big girl at kindy and my little one is down for her morning nap. As I said – 15 minutes from conception to consumption – and by the time I am finished I am full and ready to get cracking with my day.

I have listed the ingredients for one serve – so double, triple or quadruple depending on how many people you are making for (or how starving you are!)


INGREDIENTS:

  • 10 button mushrooms (sounds like a lot but they cook away to nothing)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon of balsamic glaze (a thicker, sweeter version of balsamic vinegar)
  • cream cheese
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 20 grams feta cheese
  • small handful of rocket, washed
  • 2-3 pieces of crusty bread, toasted

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
Servings: One serve


HOW TO:

Slice mushrooms and pop in a saucepan with butter.

img_2327

Pop the lid on the saucepan and cook the mushrooms down until they have browned (approx 2-3 minutes). Season with salt and pepper to taste. Add balsamic glaze and stir through. Turn stove off – mushies are done!

img_2329

See? Where’d they all go??

Plating up!

Spread cream cheese on toast and pop on the plate. Spoon mushrooms over the toast, followed by sliced avocado and crumbled feta cheese. Place rocket over the top and season with cracked pepper. VOILA! Get stuck in before someone interrupts you!

img_2343

If you want to show off, a small drizzle of balsamic glaze around the edge ups the fancy factor. ENJOY!

img_2344

Leave a Reply

