Faster than fast-food chinese beef stir-fry

When I was pregnant with my girls, I would not eat takeaway, despite the fact that I craved it so badly! For some unknown reason, perhaps the pregnancy hormones, I was so nervous that I would get sick from eating takeout food, it just became a no go zone for me.

As soon as my little ones were out and about in the world, I GORGED – all the fast food I could get my hot little hands on. And while I had thought it had been nine months of missing out, when I finally did get back amongst it all, I realised it actually wasn’t that great. Not that it tasted ‘bad’ per se, more so that it didn’t really taste like anything at all. Hello taste!??!

So not to be deterred from enjoying some of my favourite foods, I set about making my own which invariably taste a million times better, are still super quick to put together and are so much better for you.

This is my recipe for Chinese beef stir-fry. It is absolutely delicious, takes next to no time to make and can be adapted to fit which ever meat and veggies you have on hand. The sauce does call for a few Asian ingredients you may not have already at home, but it is worth getting your hands on some as I have no doubt this recipe will become a regular go-to for a quick mid week meal or an alternative to your Friday night takeout run.


INGREDIENTS

Stir-fry 

600g rump steak
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 bunch of broccoli
1 carrot
1 red capsicum
1 clove of garlic
1 tablespoon chopped ginger
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 quantity of sauce (refer below)

To garnish (optional):
sesame seeds
1 red chilli
spring onions

Sauce 

3/4 cup of water
3 tbsp soy sauce
3 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp corn starch
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp sugar
freshly ground black pepper to taste

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Servings: 4 people


HOW TO

Slice rump steak into thin strips and place into a large bowl along with 1 tbsp soy sauce and 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar. Cover and set aside until you are ready to fry (at least 10-15 minutes).

img_2710

Combine all the sauce ingredients in a bowl and whisk to combine. Set aside.

img_2741

Once the steak has finished marinating, heat oil in a large wok or frypan and fry, together with the ginger and garlic until cooked through, approximately 4-5 minutes.

img_2731

Add vegetables and sauce to the wok and toss to combine. Allow to cook for a further 3-4 minutes until vegetables soften slightly and sauce thickens.

img_2746

Once cooked, garnish with chilli, spring onions and sesame seeds (if desired). Serve immediately with cooked rice. ENJOY!

img_2750

One thought on “Faster than fast-food chinese beef stir-fry

Leave a Reply

