Pizza Puffs

My little girl loooooves pizza!

And while I am okay with her having it from time to time, I do prefer to make it at home so I know what she is eating and that the ingredients are all fresh! With enough time and foresight I will generally whip up my own pizza dough, but on nights like tonight, where my head is splitting after a long day and I have what feels like a Peppa Pig concert hangover, a little square or two of puff pastry does the trick.

These little pizza puffs are soooo quick to make – 5-10 minutes to prepare and less than 10 minutes in the oven – and my little one thinks she is having such a treat. I also get her to help me making them. She feels like such a big girl choosing what she wants on her pizzas and when she’s been involved in the meal prep she is generally much more inclined to actually eat them when they come out the oven! Hooray!

I also like to use a sundried tomato pesto as the pizza base rather than tomato sauce or tomato paste. Not only does it taste a million times better with all the delicious herbs incorporated, I find it less acidic than tomato sauce for my little girl’s tummy which means no burnt bottom!

img_3070

Prep time: 5-10 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
Servings: 4 squares per sheet of puff pastry


INGREDIENTS

Store bought puff pastry, cut into quarters
Sundried tomato pesto
Pizza topping ingredients – whatever you have in the fridge! Tonight I used – cherry tomatoes, yellow capsicum, ham, mushrooms, grated cheese, red onion and basil
Dried oregano for garnish

HOW TO

Preheat oven to 200C

Let the puff pastry thaw slightly, than cut into quarters.

Spread sundried tomato mixture over each square, leaving a small border around the edge

Top the puff pastry squares with toppings of your choice

img_3078

Once you have popped all the toppings on the pastry squares drizzle a small amount of olive oil over the top.

img_3083

Cook pizza squares for approximately 10 minutes – or until toppings are cooked and pastry is puffed and golden brown. Garnish with a sprinkle of dried oregano and serve!

img_3101

2 thoughts on “Pizza Puffs

Leave a Reply

