Tacos with a Twist

While I have always liked the idea of “Taco Tuesday”, I have never been one to fully embrace it for a couple of reasons:

  1. Quick mix packet tacos are not the healthiest. Packet taco seasoning, taco sauce, salty corn chip shells, all together are not great. The meals end up being reallllly salty and also packed full of artificial flavours which I did not feel great about feeding to Evelyn. Rob and I on the other hand would happily tuck in – but that’s beside the point!
  2. They are ridiculously awkward to eat. Seriously. Who thought up this taco shell business?! I would always try my best to eat them as Mr Old El Paso intended, but would invariably end up wearing half of it down my front or in my lap, huff and puff and crush them all up to eat with a knife and fork.

Taco Tuesday – More like Taco TearsDay. A bucket full of napisan and tears as I soaked my clothes and skulled gallons of water to quench my salt induced thirst. There had to be a better way!

It wasn’t until recently when I noticed the soft shell ‘bucket-style’ tortillas (which I now know have been around pretty much forever!!) that I thought I would give Taco Tuesday another try, but using a make from scratch taco mince rather than prepackaged seasoning.

Making your own taco mince really does taste a million times better, is just as quick and is sooooo much healthier for you and the family. I take the opportunity to pack in some veggies in the mince and also garnish the tacos with lots of fresh salad, allowing us all to enjoy Taco Tuesday without getting the guilts.


INGREDIENTS

1 tbsp olive oil
500g lean beef mince
1 brown onion, diced
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 carrot, diced finely
1 red capsicum, diced finely
1 tbsp ground paprika
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp dried oregano
1 can diced tomatoes
1 tbsp tomato paste
3/4 cup of corn kernels (fresh or frozen)
salt and pepper to taste
1 packet of soft tortilla shells

Garnishes of your choice – I used:
avocado
cherry tomatoes
rocket leaves
grated cheese
sour cream
dried oregano to garnish

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes
Servings: 4 people


HOW TO

Heat olive oil in a large heavy based pot. Add onion and garlic, and cook on medium heat until the onions soften and the garlic is fragrant.

img_3243

Add mince and cook through until browned.

img_3253

Add the diced carrot and capsicum – I was lazy and just blitzed mine in the food processor – all about efficiency! Stir through mince mixture and cook until softened (approx 5 minutes).

img_3255

Stir through cumin, paprika and oregano and cook until spices become fragrant.

img_3258

Add canned tomatoes and tomato paste and stir through to combine.

img_3262

Allow to simmer for 5-10 minutes.

img_3268

Add corn kernels and stir through to combine. Allow to cook for 2-3 minutes. Taste and add salt and pepper to your taste.

img_3273

Taco mixture is ready!

img_3279

Heat tortilla shells according to packet instructions, then assemble your tacos.

img_3291

Serve immediately and enjoy Taco Tuesday – fresh and guilt free!

Leave a Reply

