Teriyaki in Twenty

SO, this is all a bit awkward, where do I even begin.

For those of you who follow me on Instagram, you would’ve seen I was just a little bit excited about this dish. I don’t normally mention any sort of recipe on my social media or blog until I have cooked it a good few times. But, on this occasion I came across this amazing recipe, and was hooked. The pictures looked amazing, the flavours looked promising, the reviews were glowing and it promised a conception to consumption timeframe of about half an hour. Awesome. I thought it was a pretty safe bet so I proceeded, throwing caution to the wind.

My first fatal error was my token – check out my ingredients this is what I am making for dinner tonight – social media post. As if that wasn’t premature enough (having never made the recipe before and all that), I proceeded to hit up Instastories with post by post updates as my gorgeous teriyaki progressed. It looked and smelled GLORIOUS as I whipped it up, and as was promised in the recipe it was done in lightening speed.

I styled it beautifully on the plate for final photos, did a token additional sprinkle of sesame seeds, spring onions and chilli – and click click clicked away until I got that perfect shot. Ah – got it! I was so happy, I handed my husband his (now cold) chicken teriyaki and smugly sashayed across the kitchen thinking I would have the recipe up on my blog before the girls’ bedtime.

Then we tasted it.

YOWSA! Would anyone like some dinner with their salt?! Don’t get me wrong, of course I had tasted it as I cooked it, but there is a difference between a token slurp or nibble and mouthful after mouthful of salty, salty ambush. I am sure I must’ve made some error in putting this recipe together (perhaps a double up of soy sauce between instasnaps!?) but whatever the case, my teriyaki tasted like crapiyaki. I was so disappointed.

I sat quietly nibbling on a massive wedge of humble pie (as well as the crapiyaki as we don’t waste food in this house!) and pondered what might have been…then spent the evening rehydrating with a few gallons of water before bed.

Well, today is a fresh day with NO MISTAKES! I have set about recreating the teriyaki sauce using more of the flavours that I LIKE (which is what I ordinarily do before I even mention any recipe!!) and can safely say, THIS recipe is the absolute bomb, will be ready in 20 minutes and WILL be on your regular favourites list.

ENJOY! Tam x x x


INGREDIENTS

1 tbsp olive oil
600 grams chicken breast, chopped into cubes
salt and pepper
steamed rice and broccoli (to serve)
1 quantity of teriyaki sauce (see below).

Teriyaki sauce
1/8 cup of soy sauce
1/4 cup of water
2 tbsp honey
1 clove of garlic, chopped
2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
2 tbsp mirin (in the Asian section of your supermarket)
1 tbsp corn flour
1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger
1 heaped tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 10 minutes
Servings: 2 big serves

img_3930


HOW TO

Make the teriyaki sauce by popping all the ingredients into a bowl and whisking to combine. Set aside.

img_3937

Season chicken with salt and black pepper.

img_3945

Heat oil in a large wok or frypan.

img_3946

Pop chicken in the heated wok and cook through until browned.

img_3949

When chicken is cooked through pour over the sauce and stir through until it thickens, which will only take a few minutes.

img_3950

Season with sesame seeds and spring onions.

img_3951

Serve with rice, steamed broccoli and some chopped chilli (if desired) – ENJOY!

img_3983

5 thoughts on “Teriyaki in Twenty

  1. Leah says:

    This is DIVINE and my absolute fav! My husband always raves when I make this. I also double the sauce so we have lefts overs for lunch the next day! Can’t wait to make this again really soon

    Like

Leave a Reply

