Cheesy chicken and veggie sausage rolls

These sausage rolls were really delicious! I had never made them before and was so pleased with how they turned out. I was initially unsure if it was in fact the flavour that I was enjoying, or whether it was the nightmare and effort I had gone to get the ingredients to make them – read below – but my husband AND fussy daughter enjoyed them thoroughly so I know it is safe to share the recipe!

For those of you who follow me on Instagram, you would have seen that I have had a pretty ordinary week. The whole family has been down with a nasty virus that has made us all really unwell. I have not been able to think about food, let alone cook it, so it has been a long week with lots of dry pieces of toast!

I knew I was on the mend on Friday morning, as I woke up starving! As the day progressed, I had a really specific craving – chicken and veggie sausage rolls! It’s bizarre, I don’t know if I have ever even eaten chicken and veggie sausage rolls before (!!) but my tummy was telling me that is what it wanted, so I set about whipping some up.

I had a quick look online at your standard home made sausage roll recipes, and the majority called for some sort of carrot and zucchini combination as a means to get some ‘hidden veggies’ into your little ones. Seemed straight forward enough, so I set about venturing to the shops to pick up just 3 simple things. Storage baskets, 1 zucchini and a bag of frozen chips. I had to venture out with both my girls, including my littlest who was still a bit unwell, and despite making the decision to leave the house at about 8:30am, we finally all piled into the car about midday. Yes, 4 hours later.

As we walked through the shop doors we were greeted with an out of order ‘down’ escalator. I should’ve taken this as a sign to just turn around and go home, but guided by a lovely (but quite old and frail!!!) granny, we negotiated the pram and a bouncy 3 year old down the broken escalator til we got to the ground floor. Thank GOD we did not slip and flatten the granny, the stuff of nightmares!!

First stop was the baskets, which in hindsight was the wrong order! We went straight to where I knew they were, grabbed them and turned to go. We hit yet another snag when I realised that the baskets did not stack into each other, and were too big to fit in the storage basket under the pram. Great! I begged Evelyn to carry just one so I could carry the other two in one hand and push the pram with the other and she reluctantly agreed. Dawdling and dragging the basket on the floor she followed me, as I awkwardly zig-zagged my way to the checkout with a pram that wanted to go any way but straight. I got there and hurriedly paid. Done! Now just the zucchini and the chips! Look at me go, I thought. I am really kicking motherhood goals today! Maybe we should venture out more often? This is not so bad!?!

We got out of the basket store and Evelyn decided she couldn’t possibly carry the basket another step. Not one. I begged, then bribed, then threatened, but nothing. Realising there was little point in arguing, I gave her the biggest stink eye I could muster and tenuously balanced the basket on the pram canopy above Grace’s head. Confidence at motherhood goal kicking capability took a hit as I felt the eyes of the people casually sipping their coffee at the cafe I was fumbling in front of burn holes of judgement in the back of my head.

Coles was mere metres away so I pressed on – searching in vain for one bloody zucchini – while Evelyn touched lettuces and picked up punnets of loosely sealed cherry tomatoes. I finally caught the eye of a young fruit and veg packer and asked in as composed a manner as I could muster where the zucchinis were. I’m sure my eyes were twitching at this point. He politely informed me there was a NATIONAL ZUCCHINI SHORTAGE and they were unable to be ordered. What the actual hell. I turned on my heel and huffed as I stormed out the store. Okay, NO, that’s what I wanted to do. Instead, I made a very wide and awkward 12 point turn with my pram, basket balancing precariously above the head of my youngest born while I hissed ‘hurry up!!!’ to my oldest. There would be no sausage rolls tonight.

Defeated, we made our way to the (working) ‘up’ escalator. It seemed to be going double speed, as if it was compensating for it’s out of order ‘down’ counterpart. I knew it was going to be bad as I had one hand holding the pram, the other holding the baskets, and no hands holding onto my three year old as we hopped on. I got on, encouraging Evelyn to follow and watched, almost in slow motion as she popped one foot on the moving conveyor, got distracted, and left the other on the stationary platform. I watched, in horror, as her floral short clad chicken legs slowly took on ‘splits’ pose as I, my baby and my bloody baskets moved further from reach. As if a small gracious gift from the heavens above, there was a brief parting of the shit storm clouds above my head, and another young mother scooped her forward onto the moving conveyor. FAR.OUT! The other mum gave me a knowing smile as we made our way up. I think I smiled back, but maybe I just eye twitched/neck spasmd as I contemplated what business I even had leaving the house with these two. Either way, she got it.

As if the short escalator ride had afforded Evelyn the coordination of an Olympic gymnast, she gracefully jumped off the escalator at the end and we made our way to the car. We got in, and I sat in silence, trying to regroup and work out what the hell had just happened.

When we finally got home, and my blood pressure had returned to normal range I decided to proceed with my plan for some homemade sausage rolls. I used just the ingredients I had in the fridge and they really did work a treat. Maybe I just needed to have that nightmare of a shopping trip to put these specific flavours together??! Lets go with that…

PS. there are no step by step pictures for this recipe as I had not intended to share, but I will be sure to take some the next time I make these, and I will definitely make them again! If anything is unclear, leave a comment and I will clarify what I mean!

Tam x x x


INGREDIENTS

500 grams chicken mince
1/2 onion, finely diced
1/2 red capsicum, grated
1 carrot, grated
1 cup of fresh breadcrumbs (1 slice of bread)
1 egg, plus another for an egg wash
1 cup of grated cheese
2 teaspoons dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste
4 sheets of frozen puff pastry
sesame seeds to garnish

Prep time: 30 minutes
Cook time: 30 minutes
Servings: 8 large sausage rolls


HOW TO

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 200C and line 2 x baking trays with baking paper. Set aside.

Take out your frozen puff pastry sheets to allow to thaw slightly.

For the mince filling:

In a food processor, blitz the chicken mince, egg and bread crumbs together.

Transfer to a bowl and add the grated carrot, capsicum and onion.

Season well with salt and pepper.

Add the cheese and thyme and use your hands to mix through until evenly combined.

Assembling the sausage rolls:

Cut each of your pieces of puff pastry in half.

Lightly beat your remaining egg and using a pastry brush, brush the entire top side of the pastry with the egg.

Take one eighth of the sausage mix, and forming into a long sausage like form, place at one long end of each pastry half, leaving a 2cm border from the edge.

Carefully roll up the pastry to enclose the mince. Using a serrated knife, carefully cut each long roll in half.

Transfer, seam side down onto your prepared baking trays. Repeat until all sausage rolls are assembled.

Take a sharp knife and make 6-8 small incisions down the top of the sausage roll pastry to stop the sausage rolls from splitting.

Brush the top of each sausage roll with remaining egg wash, and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Baking:

Place the sausage rolls into the preheated oven for approximately 25-30 minutes, or until beautifully puffed and golden.

ENJOY!

14962385_10153764926806601_753168727_n

Leave a Reply

