Chicken with bacon, green beans and cherry tomatoes

For those of you who follow me on Instagram, you would have seen I was in a spot of bother yesterday morning when I tried to pop on a pair of dress pants I hadn’t worn for a while. I got them half way up and they seemed reallllly snug – and when I realised they hadn’t just been washed – I jumped on the scale only to find out I had put on about 4 kgs!!!

I have to admit that growing up through my teenage years and also my twenties I was one of those really annoying people who could eat anything and not put on weight. I didn’t even need to exercise – I just got on with life eating pringles and lindt chocolate balls without a care in the world.

This all changed when I turned 30, and my freakishly fast metabolism came to a grinding halt, seemingly overnight!! And over the last few years I have had to be a little bit more careful of what I eat.

I should say that I am not someone who obsesses over weight. I hardly EVER get on a scale and just know where I am at based on how my jeans fit me. To be honest, the times where I have been at my slimmest have generally been the times in my life where I have been going through a rough patch – some people comfort eat, I lose all my appetite. SO, the extra padding around my hips and thighs reflect that I am HAPPY and enjoying my life to the fullest.

That being said, I do want to keep it a little bit in check and so I am going to try and drop these extra 4 kgs in the next little while.

I found this recipe on Skinny Taste (www.skinnytaste.com) and it was so easy and so quick I was able to make it while my 10 month old sat in her high chair babbling away and my four year old ripped off squares of paper towel and folded them into ‘napkins’.

While I tweaked the recipe a little bit to reflect what I had in the house, you can find the original Skinny Taste version of the recipe here. It is absolutely delicious!!


INGREDIENTS

6 pieces of short cut bacon, chopped
2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut lengthwise into thinner halves
1/2 onion, sliced
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
3/4 cup chicken stock
1/2 cup white wine
1 teaspoon dried thyme
250 grams string beans, topped and tailed
10 cherry tomatoes, halved
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
Servings: The original recipe says serves four, I found it served Rob, Evelyn and I so our portions are obviously a bit bigger. 🙊🙊🙊 


HOW TO

Cut the chicken breasts in half length ways. Drizzle with a little bit of olive oil and season with salt and cracked black pepper.

Fry the bacon in your fry pan, stirring it around the pan until the fat renders and the bacon gets crispy. Once the bacon is cooked, transfer it to a bowl lined with paper towel and set aside.

img_5322

Wipe the pan out, leaving only enough oil to fry your chicken, remembering you already put a little bit of oil on the chicken when you seasoned it. If your pan looks quite dry add a tiny bit of olive oil. Cook your chicken, approximately 4 minutes each side or until cooked through.

img_5325

Remove from the pan, pop onto a plate and cover with foil.

img_5326

Pop a little bit of additional olive oil in the pan and cook the onions for a minute or so – they will pick up all the black bits left from the chicken and bacon. After a minute add the garlic, and cook for 30 seconds stirring continuously.

img_5329

Add the stock, wine and thyme, stirring the pan to lift all the charred bits from the bottom.

img_5332

Add the green beans, and stir into the sauce. Leave the beans to bubble away in the sauce, stirring regularly for approximately 4 minutes.

img_5336

Add the cherry tomatoes and stir through the bean and sauce mixture. Allow to cook a further 4 minutes until beans are just tender.

img_5349

Remove the beans from the sauce mixture and pop on a plate, leaving everything else simmering in the pan. Season the beans with salt and pepper to taste. Add the juices that have accumulated on the plate wiht the chicken into the sauce mixture and stir for one more minute. Turn off the sauce.

Putting it all together – pop chicken on a plate and top with a serve of the green beans. Spoon sauce and tomatoes over the chicken and beans and top with a sprinkle of the crunchy cooked bacon. Serve immediately – ENJOY! 😋

img_5383

Leave a Reply

