Zucchini and corn fritters with ricotta

I had popped these fritters on my meal plan for today, not intending for them to be a recipe I would feature on my blog. However, half way through frying them up I snuck a little taste of one and remembered just how damn delish they are I thought it would just be rude not to share the recipe! In addition to being super tasty, these are honestly SO quick to make. Whizz up some veggies in a food processor (or hand grate them if you prefer) and mix with some milk, ricotta, egg and flour and BAM you are ready to start frying them up.

In addition to being a great, meat-free dinner for Rob and I, Evelyn got stuck into them and so did my little bubba Grace. They look a bit like pikelets (as far as Evie was concerned) but they are packed full of veggies – corn, zucchini and carrot so they make a nutritious little meal which I just served with some home made potato wedges and a simple spinach and tomato salad.

I will definitely be keeping this recipe at the top of my list given it went down so well with my girls. They would also make a delicious inclusion in lunch boxes or out on picnics.


INGREDIENTS

125ml milk
2 eggs
125g fresh smooth ricotta
150g self-raising flour
1 x 400g of corn kernels
1 zucchini, trimmed and roughly grated
1 carrot, trimmed, peeled and roughly grated
1 clove of garlic, peeled
salt and pepper
2 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter

Salsa, potato wedges and salad (to serve).

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 20 minutes
Servings: approximately 20 fritters


HOW TO

Put the garlic, carrot and zucchini into a food processor and blitz for a few seconds until roughly grated. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the milk, eggs and ricotta. Add the flour and continue to whisk until you form a batter.

Add the pre-grated carrot, zucchini and garlic, as well as the corn and whisk through to evenly combine.

Season with salt and pepper.

Heat half the oil and butter in a frypan. I always add a little bit of butter with the oil, as it is a sure fire way of making sure that the fritters will not stick.

Spoon 1/4 cup quantities of mixture into the pan and cook, approximately 3 minutes on each side until golden brown and cooked through.

img_5852

Use the remaining oil and butter as required to keep the pan greased up between batches.

Transfer cooked fritters to a plate lined with some paper towel to drain off any excess oil/butter.

img_5853

Serve the fritters warm or cold, with some salsa and a simple salad. ENJOY! 💜

img_5887

6 thoughts on “Zucchini and corn fritters with ricotta

  1. Chantelle Venter says:

    Yummy. We had this tonight and I could not stop eating. My son who is 6 even asked if he could have some for recess. Love it. Thank you for sharing this Tam.

    Like

  2. Kristin says:

    These are delicious, I find it hard to get my son to eat any vegetables but he asked me to bring some for him to have after school today, so they were a hit! I really enjoyed them too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

