Crunchy mexican chicken tenders

It is 37 degrees in Perth today, and it has been a hectic week. Rob is at work today, Grace is currently having an afternoon snooze, Evie and I are sitting in the air-conditioning watching The Incredibles (again!!) and I thought I would take this golden opportunity to write up a few of the recipes from the week.

The inspiration for this recipe came from a similar one I saw from Skinny Taste – one of my favourite cooking sites. You can see the inspiration for this recipe here. But as is often the case with me, there are always different ingredients I like to use and flavours I like to incorporate, and so my take on these crunchy mexican tenders is a bit different as outlined below.

The great thing about this recipe is that it is so quick to make (less than half an hour) and uses ingredients you probably already have at home. The use of crushed up corn chips as the chicken crumb gives it a tasty deep-fried style crunch – but the tenders are baked in the oven so a much healthier alternative.

I used chicken tenderloins in my recipe, but you could use chicken breasts cut into strips, or even diced for a bite-size ‘popcorn chicken’ style effect that would be a great finger food option for the kids – and a great alternative to pre-packaged chicken nuggets. My recipe cook times are based on tenderloins however, so if you do decide to use smaller pieces of chicken you will need to watch as you cook and adjust the times as you need to.

I served my tenders with a simple salad, but these crunchy tenders are so versatile you could really serve them however you like – next time I make them I think we will have them in wraps.

img_6041


INGREDIENTS

600 grams chicken tenderloins
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/3 cup flour
100 grams original flavoured corn chips
1 tsp smoked paprika
1 tsp dried oregano
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp olive oil
1 lime (to serve)
tomato salsa (to serve)

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 16-20 minutes
Serves: Four people, with salad


HOW TO

Preheat oven to 200C, and line a baking tray with baking paper.

Season the chicken pieces with a little bit of salt and pepper.

img_6013

Prepare a production line of beaten egg, flour and crushed up corn chips. You will need to crush your corn chips up finer than I have in this picture as they will not stick easily to the chicken when they are this big (you live and learn!! 😁)

Sprinkle the ground paprika into the corn chips and toss to combine before you begin coating your chicken.

img_6015

Dip each chicken tender in the flour, followed by the egg wash and then the corn chips. You may need to pat the corn chips onto the chicken, but don’t stress they will stay put once they are on the baking tray.

Big props to Samantha who pointed out my whole ‘crumbing’ life has been a lie – I have ALWAYS done the egg, then the flour and wondered why I had limited success getting crumbs to stick?! 🙊🙊🙊 Please refer to my ‘recipes’ header page where I put my hand up to NOT being an accomplished chef! 😂 Thanks Samantha, you are a doll 😘

Repeat with all the chicken tenders. Once they are all coated and lined on the baking tray, drizzle with a small amount of olive oil and sprinkle with some additional paprika and dried oregano. I had little hands help me with this most important step 😍

img_6019

Place the chicken into the preheated oven for 8 minutes. Take out, turn each tender over, then drizzle with a little bit more olive oil, some more paprika and oregano – then back in the oven for an additional 8 minutes*

img_6022

*8 minutes each side worked perfectly for me, but as ovens can vary, keep an eye on yours. I wouldn’t think you would need less than 8 minutes each side but you may need a minute or two more. Your chicken is cooked when you pierce it and the juices run clear. Also – if you are using chicken pieces smaller than chicken tenders, your cooking time will be less.

Take the chicken out, squeeze over some fresh lime (if desired) and it is ready to serve.

img_6023

I served my chicken tenders with a mexican inspired green salad – salad greens, avocado, cherry tomatoes, cheese and a little bit of sour cream – and some mild tomato salsa for dipping. These really are so delicious, and a quick and healthy alternative to fried chicken. ENJOY! 💜

img_6041

2 thoughts on “Crunchy mexican chicken tenders

  1. Samantha says:

    Hi,
    I’ve just discovered this blog via @hunting_for_beautiful_bargains and I love the recipes! Just wanted to mention quickly that I think you’ve made a small error in this recipe. The flour should come before the egg – perhaps that’s why your chips didn’t stick 😉
    Found this description of crumbing on taste.com.au…
    “Crumbing involves coating food in seasoned flour, then dipping it in a liquid, such as whisked egg, and finally in breadcrumbs to create a firm coating that becomes golden and crisp when fried.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

