In and out in time for ‘The Bachelor’

While I do enjoy cooking and eating delicious food, these days, time in the kitchen isn’t always as ‘relaxing’ as it once was. In the lead up to the 5/5:30pm dinner I try keep to for my girls, time in the kitchen is usually spent tripping over the girls, or random things that have been left laying in the middle of the floor, telling Evelyn to sit properly on the high bar stool, or to keep away from the stove, or to stop annoying her sister, or to come keep her sister company. Meanwhile, Grace is either chilling like an angel in her high chair, chomping on a strawberry or two, or SCREAMING baby language expletives in my direction – which as a mum I can understand mean “where the heck is my food mum!?!!!”

Fair to say, the quicker I can get in and out of the kitchen, the better.

I would describe my cooking style as homestyle cooking with a bit of creative flair. For me, there is nothing more delicious than the tried and tested recipes that we grew up eating, but ‘homestyle’ does not have to look slap dash. I take an extra minute or two each night to plate the food up nicely and I feel a sense of pride when I put the food out – especially to a 4 year old who’s face is invariably screwed up at whatever she gets 🙄. It sounds terribly old-fashioned and outdated I realise [sorry, bra-burners 😁]  but I do get a little buzz out of putting together something that looks delicious and appetising. Cooking has always been a creative outlet for me and this comes through in all stages of the cooking process. ‘We eat first with our eyes’ and all that jazz?!

ANYWAY – the point of that long winded rant is that while my food may look a bit fancy-schmance sometimes, all my recipes are so super EASY! And they generally use basic, every day ingredients you have at home. They are quick to prepare, use as few pots and pans as possible and are designed to have you fed, the kitchen cleaned and the kids in bed (asleep is another kettle of fish) in time for The Bachelor! Oh, how I am counting down the days for Bachelor Nick!!! 🌹🌹🌹

I hope you enjoy looking through (and hopefully cooking) my recipes and please let me know how you get on when you make them!

tam-x-x-x-2

Leave a Reply

