Thai Green Chicken Curry

I am a massive fan of Thai curries. My husband and I spent a week in Thailand on our honeymoon and I think I ate curry for every meal. Like, even for breakfast.

Before I ever started meal planning, I used to ask my husband about 5 minutes before I intended to walk out the door what he wanted for dinner in the week, and invariably his answer would be: ‘thai green curry’ and ‘stir-fry’. He put absolutely no thought into his response and it became such a bugbear of mine I stopped asking him…but not before becoming really good at making thai green curry.

Being a busy mum without even the most remote Asian heritage I must admit I do use a store bought curry paste, but I really couldn’t imagine making this dish very often if I had to bash and grind chillis with a morter and pestle. This is one of my  favourite mid week meals as you can whip it up in about half an hour and it is full of flavour (and heat)!

Whenever I think of recipes to share on the blog, I always choose recipes which contain every day ingredients – the ones you are likely to have in your fridge and pantry – and avoid abstract ingredients you would have to buy just for the one meal. With that in mind, I adjusted my normal green curry recipe, and despite having high hopes, it just didnt taste nearly as good. SO, I have to stress that there are 2 x ingredients that you might not have at home, that you will need for this recipe to make it taste amazing – one is lemon grass, the other is thai basil. They are not overly abstract – i.e. they are in your local supermarket fruit and veg section – but really make the world of difference.

I buy the lemongrass in a tube which is more user friendly – just squeeze a dollop in rather than wrestle with the  tough and fibrous lemon grass stalks, and also lasts a little longer in the fridge. The thai basil will last about a week in the fridge, so when we have green curry, I always make it two weeks in a row to make sure none goes to waste!

My recipe below packs a punch heat wise, so you should adjust the chilli quantities to suit your taste. You can also adjust the vegetable ingredients to suit what you have in the fridge which makes it quite an adaptable go-to meal.

Finally – I don’t give this to Evelyn – green curry is too hot. So on curry night I whip up something else for Evie – usually some mini quiches and salad or something easy I have in the freezer.


INGREDIENTS

1 tbsp olive oil
2 (heaped) tbsp green curry paste
1 clove garlic, minced
4 chicken thighs, diced
2 tbsp soy sauce
1.5 tbsp fish sauce
1.5 tbsp lemon grass
1 tsp Sriracha chilli sauce (optional)
1 handful of green beans, topped/tailed and cut into 3cm pieces
1/2 red capsicum, sliced
2 tbsp, thai basil, roughly chopped plus extra for garnish)
400ml can of coconut milk
1/2 lime, juiced
1 red chilli, sliced (optional, for garnish)

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Servings: 2 big serves


HOW TO

Add oil and curry paste and garlic to a wok and heat together. Continue to stir until the curry is heated through and has become fragrant.

Don’t heat the oil and put the curry paste into a hot wok as it will spit like the venom of a fire-breathing dragon!! Learn from my mistakes!🙅‍

Once the curry has been heated, add the chicken and continue to stir until it is thoroughly coated and cooked through.

img_5700

Add the coconut milk to the chicken and stir to combine. Add the soy sauce, fish sauce, lemon grass and chilli sauce (if using). Stir to combine, then cover, and allow to simmer for 5 minutes.

img_6119

Add the beans and capsicum and stir through.

img_6122

Cover, and allow to simmer a further 3-4 minutes, or until the capsicum and green beans are just tender. Next, add the lime juice and the thai basil and stir through. Allow to cook about 1 minute more, then taste and adjust seasoning if required. I usually add a small sprinkle of salt, but that is to my taste.

img_6123

And that’s it! Serve with some jasmine rice and garnished with some chopped red chilli, a sprinkle of extra basil leaves and a small squeeze of extra lime juice, if desired. ENJOY! 💜

img_6148

3 thoughts on “Thai Green Chicken Curry

  1. Leah says:

    Made this last night it was absolutely divine and the best green curry I have made. Thanks for the yummy recipe. This will be my go-to recipe now x

    Like

Leave a Reply

