Jam Drops

I have been buying jam drops from the bakery department of my local supermarket for years. It wasn’t until recently that I actually looked at the ingredients on the packaging that I was so shocked by all the numbers, artificial colours, preservatives and random agents I couldn’t pronounce! I couldn’t understand why they were packed with so much rubbish when they should really just be a butter biscuit with a dollop of jam?! ANYWAY! In the interests of protecting my family I took it upon myself to get rid of the last packet I ever bought. By eating them all myself. 😄 The things us mums will do to protect our families!! 😋😋😋 And from then on I decided to just make my own.

My recipe for jam drops are so super easy to make – a simple cookie dough, rolled into balls, prodded with a finger and topped up with a dollop of strawberry jam. I got Evelyn to make these with me – and they are quick and easy enough for her that she doesn’t lose interest half way through! AND my kitchen doesn’t look like a total bomb at the end!

I know things always taste better home made, but these really taste SO MUCH better than the store bought ones, and it is obviously good to know exactly what has gone into them.

Note – Evie and I were having so much fun whipping these up I totally forgot to take progress photos 😁 BUT! They really are so easy I think you will manage just fine.


INGREDIENTS

125g butter, chopped
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup raw sugar
1 egg
1/4 cup desiccated coconut
1 1/4 cup plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
strawberry jam (for dolloping!)

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 15 minutes
Servings: approximately 24 biscuits


HOW TO

Preheat oven to 180 C and line 2 x baking trays with baking paper. Set aside.

Using an electric mixer, cream the butter, sugar and vanilla essence until light and fluffy.

Next, add the coconut, egg, flour and baking powder and beat until combined.

Roll tsp size portions of mixture into balls and place on the baking tray. Be sure to leave a decent amount of space on the tray between your cookie balls as they will spread out as they cook.

Next, use your finger to make an indentation in the middle of each cookie ball. This will be the ‘jam vessel’ of your cookie so make it deep enough that you can get a decent dollop in there.

Add a small dollop of jam into each of your cookies, and that’s it! They are ready for the oven! It was at this point I remembered about the photos – so here is one – I would suggest spreading yours out a tiny bit further than this, as there were a couple of close calls for a biscuit merge 😂

img_7186

Pop in the preheated oven for approximately 15 minutes or until golden and brown. Once cooked, allow to cool and then ENJOY! 💜

img_7199

4 thoughts on “Jam Drops

  1. avofoodies says:

    These cookies look amazing! I love eating tinned butter cookies, but I know they’re packed with chemicals so I’m so glad to have found this recipe! It’s interesting that you add dedicated coconut, does it give the cookies a coconut flavor?

    Like

    • thecoldcoffeeclub says:

      Hi avofoodies – thanks so much! I like to add a little bit of coconut, for a bit of texture and because it’s quite good for you! There isn’t a huge amount in this recipe though so you taste the coconut if you are looking out for it but these cookies are definitely more of a traditional butter cookie flavour than a coconut cookie. I hope that answers your question?! 😄 Would love to hear how you enjoy these xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

