Banana bread biscuits with chia

A good friend recently sent me this recipe for banana bread biscuits, saying it was her go-to recipe for her daughter’s lunch box. I am always keen for any recipe that uses over ripe bananas as I almost alwasy have a couple of them in my fruit bowl – yet I keep buying bananas!!!

The original recipe that was sent to me was from The Road to Loving my Thermomix, and I have adapted to suit my tastes as well as what I had on hand. You can find the original recipe here! The main things I changed in my version of the recipe was to half the amount of sugar (replacing the other half of the recipe’s sugar quantity with desiccated coconut) and also to add chia seeds for some extra healthy benefits!

Both my girls love these biscuits and they are perfect for a delicious inclusion in school lunch boxes! They are very quick and easy to make, and are also freezer friendly (if they last long enough to freeze!)


INGREDIENTS

150g plain flour
1 tsp baking powder
120g rolled oats
30g raw sugar
30g desiccated coconut
100g butter, softened
2 ripe bananas
1 egg
1/2 tsp salt
2 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Prep time: 15 minutes
Cook time: 15-20 minutes
Servings: 18-20 biscuits


HOW TO

Preheat oven to 180C and line 2 x baking trays with baking paper and set aside.

Place all the ingredients (except for the oats) into a Thermomix or food processor and blitz until combined.

IMG_8735

Add the oats and mix, on a lower speed to combine without over processing the oats. If you do blitz up the oats it is not the end of the world, I just prefer the cookies with a bit more texture. Note that even when the oats have been combined in the cookie mixture it will still be quite a wet mix.

IMG_8737

Spoon tbsp sized dollops of cookie mixture onto the prepared baking trays. Don’t try and use your hands to roll the dough into balls as it is too wet and will not work. Gently form the cookie dough dollops into rounds that more closely resemble a traditional ‘cookie’ shape and then press down gently with your fingers. I found the easiest way to do this was to wet your fingers slightly. Add a small sprinkle of extra rolled oats on the top of each.

IMG_8739

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until cooked through. I put the cookies under the grill for the last couple of minutes to get them golden in colour. Pull out of the oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

IMG_8744

Enjoy with a cup of tea, and store the leftovers for lunch box treats in the fridge or freezer. ENJOY! 💜

IMG_8746

IMG_8751

 

2 thoughts on “Banana bread biscuits with chia

Leave a Reply

